top of page

Back from Holidays


I had quite a busy few days. After I moved to Manchester (Wednesday) I had to go back to London for my thesis viva. I had to leave on Thursday evening and stay overnight with my friends as the tickets for train were ridiculously expensive. Off peak tickets would be around £ 25-30 while to get in time for my viva (which was scheduled at 10 am) I would have to pay £ 120 one way. So I decided to go earlier.


The viva itself went fine as I believe, but the results will be only available in the end of November. I think most of us (who have done research as BSc or MSc students) did not have enough time to do all of the experiments and optimisation of techniques.


Anyway, after coming back from viva I was leaving England for 2 weeks to go and see my parents in Latvia, plus I had to get my wisdom tooth removed. It was horribly by the way, could not swollen for 3 days. I included some pictures from the trip if someone is interested.


This is how Jurmala (our sea side) looks on a rainy day.

This is how most of our roads look like – there are forests almost everywhere and we have a lot of pine trees.

I didn’t spend a lot of time with my friends as I don’t see my parents often and I prefer to stay with them. Nevertheless, I met with some of my closest ones. When meeting my friends, I took a few pictures of Riga. Here is the picture of St. Peter's Church.

Near this church there is a Musicians of Bremen Monument.


Lastly, I decided to show how the place were I live looks like. Its a small village near the capital (around 13.29 miles or 21.4 km) Not much has changed since I grew up there, only the trees became bigger and the stadium next to my home was build. On the picture below you can see my house, the flat where I live cannot be seen as its on another side, facing the forest.


This is the view on another side the greenish building at the end of the road is the primary school where I used to go. The village is really small you can walk around it in 30 minutes if not less.


bottom of page