top of page

Last weeks blog - trip to Diamond Light Source

First of all I want to congratulate everyone who got accepted for our program. To those who have missed the deadline, don't worry. I believe that the application will be open again at a later stage.


Now for the update. Last Monday we had trip to the Diamond light source. It was interesting, however it should have been done on Tuesday, as Monday it is their only day when the synchrotron doesn't work. In addition, we have another trip to Diamond again on the same week. Actually, at this moment I am on a train to Didcot parkway from where we will get to the hotel.


I have highlighted the issue with inappropriately placed trips on CDT meeting last Thursday. Also we have suggested to extend our lab placements and to replace one of the EBLs with something more hands on. Let's see if they will incorporate something next year. If not we should be able to bring it up again. :)


By the way I have finally changed my hair colour. Payed 150£... Crazy, that's month’s salary of some people in my country... Anyway, I went to David Rozman and if you have curly hair I wouldn't recommend them. They almost ripped out half of my hair while trying to brush it, also they didn't finish drying it. I don't think he understood how long it takes to dry curly hair.. :) The color is nice, but not for 150£. I generally don't think that you should spend that much on hair, but since I really wanted to change something, I went for it. In a month time I probably will do some more adjustments to the colour, but this time by myself. :)


Can't wait to finally arrive to the hotel.. We all are tired from carrying our bags.. :P we will also try to have some fun in the evening. We brought few card games to play in the hotel. Tomorrow we are going to the synchrotron, to start our second EBL and next Monday we should submit our project proposals.. Wish us the best of luck. :)


bottom of page