top of page

Sorry for missing


The last two weeks were crazy busy. Well I wasn’t particularly occupied but I was doing something non-stop. So last week we spend at the Diamond light source. We stayed in the Milton Hill hotel, it was a really old hotel and to me it looked creepy as a lot of the furniture was black and it was lit with candles. However, my classmates really loved it. In addition to that I got pranked the first night, so I was traumatized :D and didn’t feel comfortable in the hotel any more.


So basically on the first day I kept saying to my classmates that I don’t like the hotel and its too gothic to my taste, also I had a huge black wardrobe in my room and no one else had it. Well it could be considered as a benefit but it was scaring me by some weird reason. So in the evening I called all my classmates into my room to sign the birthday card, everyone left including me but two guys stayed as they said they were googling how to say “happy birthday” in another language. I didn’t suspect anything at all. The whole evening, they kept scaring me with talks about ghosts and nonsense like that. So closer to midnight I went to sleep and as soon as I opened the door I saw the bible standing on top of the guest book right in front of my door. That already creeped me out. I thought maybe that’s what cleaners do. I went further and I saw a lot of crap on my bed made in to some sort of a pyramid and the I realize that the freaking wardrobe is 1 metre away from the wall. I couldn’t stay in the room any longer so I called my classmate who had a room not far from me. I asked him to come over, at this stage I was all shaking like crazy. I only met the guys who did it later on, when we were going to the reception as my classmate who came to me has locked himself out of his room. The guys thought it was funny and they said that they made a sm


ile from pennies and they thought that should be clear. To me it wasn’t clear at all.. Anyway, I was quite angry at them but everyone else thought it was a good prank.


The project at the diamond was quite refreshing in a sense that it was the most hands one experience that we had. They also gave us a couple of lectures and I found most of them really interesting, some on them though, were too much into physics.

So we scanned our samples, in our case it was a PMMA cast of lymph node vasculature. The majority of the week we have spent analysing our samples in Avizo and ImajeJ. To be fair it could have been done much faster but since the programs were crushing every time we were trying to save the projects, it took us forever. We managed to get some pictures and videos, but didn’t get any values.

Collected data was used to write a 5-page assignment, which we have just finished and submitted. In addition, we used the videos we took in our video presentation. We uploaded it to YouTube, but its private for our supervisor. Its quite embarrassing. So this whole week we have spent working on a video and report and also for last Monday we have submitted project proposals.

Ahead of us is the final EBL, where we will do a half an hour presentation and a 5000-word report. We all can’t wait for it to be finished, so we can start doing our projects. This week I will have Electron microscopy training and also I should be more free so the next blog should not be late.


bottom of page