top of page

Trip to AstraZeneca and last EBL

I will start from the least interesting, we just had our last presentation for EBL. The last few days were spent preparing the presentation and we still have to submit a report. However, on a positive note, we are a few weeks away from starting our projects which feels amazing. I actually will go on holidays from the 31st of March and then on the 13th of April I am going to Diamond Light Source to do some scans. So I will begin my lab work only after the 18th of April, well that’s excluding Diamonds part.



Last week through, we had a trip to AstraZeneca in Macclesfield. Unfortunately, the most of research and development of AstraZeneca has moved to Cambridge and Macclesfield is now the main development part. Thus majority of work that we have seen looked like warehouse work to me, believe me I have some experience with that. :D They have crazy 06:00-13:00 and 13:00-20:00 shifts and in most cases they just perform designed tasks or just monitor that the conveyors are working properly. In addition to that, the trip was not designed for us “Regenerative medicine people”, so some tours were completely irrelevant to us. So, I didn’t really like what they have shown to us as our potential work. Thus it was quite useful experience as you don’t fully understand how its like until you go out and see the places.


bottom of page