top of page

Manchester City of Science Festival, Meetings and some “progress” on my project


Last week was Manchester city of science festival. Have no clue why, but I volunteered to do lab tours. I was responsible for the imaging facility. I actually just had training for some equipment in there just a day ago, so I was abit scared as sometimes scientists come with their children and I didn't want to look like a fool. Luckily, we didn't have that many people who were familiar with our microscopes even though they were scientists. So it was kinda easier to talk to them, but still we had to explain everything. It was quite fun, but I thought that more people could have come. You had to register to visit the labs and they would let 1 group of people every 40 minutes. People were spending 10 minutes on a station (4 in total) so the majority of time we sat there waiting for someone to show up. I also wanted to go and see the graphene institute, but I soon realised that it was fully booked so I couldn't.


Apart from doing that volunteering thing, I also had a meeting with my supervisors. One of them is currently in Japan so I had to make a skype call. Apparently everyone is now totally obsessed with Pokemon Go, as even my supervisor was showing us what pokemons he collected while being there. By the way, my supervisors are awesome :D. Also during the meeting I have discussed my trip to Denmark and the lack of fibres that prevents me from doing anything in the lab. So I have decided that instead of Denmark I will go to Harwell (diamond light source) and will make fibres, as well as some analysis of them. My supervisors were fine with my decision, so I will be going to Harwell on the 15th. Also, after I booked tickets I was invited for Avizo training workshop on the same day!!!! I hate this. I spoke with guys in Henry Moseley and they said that I should be able to do it later. Let's see how it goes.


Lastly, while my supervisor is away, I'm helping out a bunch of MSc students. I like it, but it's hard as I don't have grant code for them, so I can't really help much if we don't have stuff. Now I froze all my cells down and won’t do anything in the lab until I come back from Harwell. During this free time I will try to work on a new literature review and maybe try to learn Python a bit.


That's pretty much it for this week. Now i will go watch the Angry Birds Movie. :)



bottom of page