top of page

Things start to get better


I have been missing for a while but I’m back now. Sorry for disappearing again, I think I might consider changing the day when I post my blogs. Usually I’m chilling on a weekend and I get too carried away. On the next weekend after the last blog me and my fiancé went to the Edenborough to explore the city together. Honestly, it’s amazing. I would recommend to visit if you can and a botanical garden is definitely worth visiting. It has amazing plants.


PIC - [Trying to make a new nozzle for spinning]


My project has started to slowly move forward. I got a bunch of cells from a Postdoc who helped me with transfection of cells. Also, he gave me some viruses hence I can make cell fluoresce by myself which is awesome. For past, few weeks I was working on electrospinning which I am not a big fan of. I think it’s quite unreliable and it’s very hard to get consistent results. I have optimised more or less the electrospinning parameters in Harwell (not far from Oxford) but now I try to do it in Manchester so I don’t have to spend money on travel. I think it’s going quite good, we are slowly making process. I’ll need to update my supervisor tomorrow. Hope he will be happy.


I also got some relatively bad news, so my co-supervisor who is on maternity leave will only come back in February not in September as I thought before. I obviously understand but I hope we can have more contact in the future. Nevertheless, I am quite confident at the moment so I feel like I only nee supervisors when there is a big or expensive experiment just to make sure I got all the parameters right and I won’t do anything stupid. But even then, I can ask my colleagues.


P.S. I have the best office mates ever, last Friday we had board game evening at my flat which was awesome. I hope we could have some more of these.



bottom of page