top of page

Eligibility criteria for CDT funding. (IMPORTANT FOR NEW APPLICANTS)

When I was applying for CDT I was confused about eligibility criteria for funding. It wasn’t a problem for me as I lived in UK for 5 years prior to my application but I still couldn’t get my head around the rules. I think it might be helpful if I try to explain them. Last week we had a CDT advisor board meeting, where CDT students meet current heads of CDT. So I have decided to clarify the rules. Currently of CDT website it says:


UK and EU

“UK students are eligible for a full award if they have been resident in the UK for at least 3 years prior to starting the course. European Union nationals who have been resident in the UK for at least 3 years prior to starting the course are also eligible for a full award (fees and stipend). Any EU nationals that do not meet the residency criteria can still apply but would not be eligible for a full award (fees only).”


International Students

“The CDT in Regenerative Medicine welcomes applications from international students. This programme is funded by the Research Councils (EPSRC and MRC) which means that, unfortunately, we cannot provide funding for overseas students. However, there are alternative funding opportunities available for international students.”


I personally understood that you need to live in UK for 3 years if you are EU or UK student to get full funding and that you can’t get full finding if you are international student. But thats not correct, what they told me during that meeting is that anyone whom EU can apply even if you didn’t live in UK. For international students you need to live in UK for 3 years and then you can get full funding. I think its great news for some of you. I would still email CDT administrator to double check if you are planning to apply, currently its Catherine: catherine.delamar@manchester.ac.uk. But please check who is current administrator on CDT website as they might change in the future.


I really hope this will encourage more of you to apply for our CDT :)



bottom of page