top of page

Wedding part 1

I have been engaged since last June 2017 and recently we got married. We have been together for 10 years and actually, our wedding date was our 10 year anniversary. We lived together for 8 years


in the UK, so in our case not much has changed after the wedding. We have celebrated our wedding on 27th of June in Latvia, where we are both from.


I’ll spit the wedding blog post into two as otherwise, it would get too long.


26th June – one day before the Big day.


Check-in:


The day before the wedding we decided to have a meal together with all our friends, and I also had to check in myself and my fiancé into Airbnb. (we rented 2 apartments next to each other in old Riga) After I checked in, I was all by myself as my bridesmaid had to work until evening and my fiancé was having sort of bachelors party with his friends. (we didn’t do proper bachelor and hens party) I had to wait for the agent to come over to organise everything for the wedding and then I had to go and get some food for breakfast. I think at that moment I started panicking, I felt overwhelmed and I bit angry that I am doing all the admin while my fiancé is partying. Also, a lot of people from UK and local were texting me trying to find out about the wedding, even though all the info was in the invitation, as well as about the evening meal. By the time I met my bridesmaid I was proper panicking and I think I even made her worry. :D


The dinner:


Getting to the dinner was crazy too as we lost one of the non-locals and she wasn’t picking up the phone and we were really worried. Anyway, eventually, we made it to the dinner. The dinner was nice for everyone to get to know each other so at the wedding they wouldn’t feel as if they are surrounded by strangers.


The last night:


After the meal, we went back to Airbnb, had some champagne and it was already getting to midnight so we went to bed. Keep in mind I had to wake up at 7 to get ready. Apartments were located on top of the bar and oh my god, even though it was Tuesday the music was so loud. My bridesmaid fell asleep I think petty quickly but I couldn’t fall asleep at all. I decided to check the time and I realised its 2 am, I got even more awake from panicking. My mom gave me some sleeping pills just in case, and they are quite strong. I took it and went to bed, waiting for magic to happen. Next time, I check my phone – an hour has passed. I realised that pill should have worked by now and I am still fully awake. I realised that I won’t be able to fall asleep unless I do something. I knew that my fiancé had his phone off, so I decided to give a call to his best man. At 3 am! I told him that I can’t sleep and asked him to open the door. I think he was too confused to even question me and just did what I said. Luckily their apartment was literally next to ours. I took my own pillow a duvet and made my way to their apartment. The guys had one bed which was already quite small, I but that didn’t bother me one bit, as I squeezed in between them. From then on I had to bother my fiancé for around 40 minutes, with requests to bring water, close curtains and etc. Eventually, I fell asleep I managed to fall asleep and I am still certain that if I didn’t go to my fiancé I would have not been able to fall asleep. (also their room was soo much quieter for some reason).


The end.


The next post will be about the actual wedding. I'll insert some pictures from the dinner and our Airbnb.



bottom of page